Jonas Salk, Polio Vaccine Inventor, Wrote Us a Letter

Written by Justine Rothbart

_____

Jonas Salk

It’s never a dull day in the AAUW archives. I never know what treasure I am going to find in our fellowship files. Each fellow is unique. Each one has their own story. In Helen Claudia Henry’s 1955–56 International Fellowship file, I came across two letters written by Jonas Salk, the virologist who discovered the polio vaccine. As I held the letters in my hands, I could not believe that letters from a world-famous scientist are here in the AAUW archives.

As I dug deeper, the story of the letters began to take shape.

Click here to read the full story about this new discovery in the AAUW Archives.

Leave a Reply

